Watson Chapel Sports Hall of Fame

In 1997, Watson Chapel School District celebrated its 100th year as a school district. As a part of this celebration, the centennial committee established a Sports Hall of Fame. A committee, made up of district teachers and patrons, was formed and the first winners were chosen. Members of the selection committee were Ray Mitchell (Chairperson), Steve Monk, Sam Wamble, Lonnie Sutton, Brenda Dixon, and Etta Kuykendall. 

The Committee accepted nominations from the public during the fall of 1996 and selections were made during the spring semester. Inductees were presented at the first home football game of the 1997 season. The first inductees were Sue Turner, Johnnie Johnson, Jesse Branch, Jesse Rawls, Ronnie Phllips, Randy Phillips, and John Tate. 

The Watson Chapel Sports Hall of Fame inductees will be presented each year at the first home football game. Nominations will be accepted through December 31st each year. Applications may be picked up at Central Office, 4100 S. Camden Road, Pine Bluff, AR 71603. 

Jesse Branch
Johnnie Johnson
Ronnie Phillips
Randy Phillips
Jesse Rawls
John Tate
Sue Turner

Reggie Bass
Paul Jones
Mike Umphres
Kevin Williams
Latoya Young

Leslie Byrd
Kevin Downing
Vetol Reynolds
Wayne Richardson

Greg Vaughn

Coach Bruce McConnell
Coach Lonnie Sutton
Kendal Honea
Ricky Parks
Robby Downing
David Kenley

Jeffery M. Glover
Danny Johnson
Ray Mitchell
Eddie Handley
Billy Riggins
Mike Holcomb

Heath McKoin
Lance Downing
Lee Drewett
Keith Wilson
John Roberts
Richie Workman
Terry Threlkeld

Augusta Farver, Jr
Couch Douglas "Doug" Watkins

Jarris Kentle
Sherman Lusk

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.